Skip to content

Jose Reyes Is A Good Sport

February 18, 2009

David Lennon of Newsday has a piece in which he quotes Reyes responding to things such as the Phillies’ Met obsession and batting 3rd.

When it came to the Cole Hamels and his”choke artists” comment, Jose had this to say: “I don’t know why they always focus on us. They are the ones to win the world series. We don’t say nothing about them. We just say congratulations to the phillies. They always say something about us and we don’t even focus on them. We focus on them when we play against them.

“We don’t worry about the Phillies – we focus about the New York Mets,” Reyes said. “They have to be happy because they win the World Series. Why do they focus on us? What did we do to them? If they don’t like us, that’s OK.”

He was even surprised when he learned of the picture the guys in the Phillie clubhouse put up of him after Victorino seemed to celebrate his home run off the Dodgers saying: “I heard that,” Reyes said.”I don’t know why they said that because I’m not the only when I hit a home run that I ‘pimp’ it. A lot of people do that. A lot of people from Philadelphia too. They stand there for a couple seconds and nobody say nothing. I don’t know why the Phillies focus so much on the New York Mets. We just worry about us.”

And when it came to Jerry Manuel’s plan comments on maybe shifting the lineup a bit and letting Castillo lead off while bumping Reyes down to 3rd, Jose was great about it and said this: “I’m here to do whatever they want me to do,” Reyes said. “People call me and say I’m not going to lead off anymore but I’m here to help this team win. no matter where they put me – third, second, fourth, fifth, whatever. I’m here to play baseball and help this team win a championship.”

That last quote Jose made just made me a bigger fan of his. Maybe I’m looking a bit too into it but it does seem like Jose has a great deal of respect for Jerry and is being very mature on the whole situation – I wasn’t expecting him to say much more than something along the lines of “wherever Jerry decides to put me I’ll just do what I have to do”.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

