Skip to content

To Pedro Or Not To Pedro? That Is The Question!

March 2, 2009

Mets beat write David Lennon sat down with future Hall-Of-Famer Pedro Martinez to discuss his future. Here’s a few questions I found interesting. *To read the entire interview click on this link.

Q: Do you have a chip on your shoulder because no one has signed you yet?

PM: No, not really. No chip on my shoulder. No chip on my shoulder. I understand business and understand the ugly face of baseball, which is the business part of baseball. Whether you like it or not, the last few years I’d be the first one to tell you I haven’t been the Pedro Martinez that I’m used to being. And if nobody takes a chance, I’ll go fishing. If I’m healthy and I’m able to do the things I used to do, I think a lot of people are going to regret not taking a chance

Q: Is the door closed with the Mets?

PM: I don’t know really. The season hasn’t’ started. I’m not really worried about what they do. I’m just getting ready. For sure I’ll be ready. If I’m healthy, anybody would have a bargain – if I’m healthy. If I’m not, well, I’ll go home fishing. My boat is waiting for me.

Q: Is there one team you’d love to play for?

PM: Love to play for? All of them. All of them. I’m open to play for anybody that would give me respect, treat me the right way, and actually going to make me feel comfortable.

Q: Would you do what Tom Glavine did — sign a low base contract with incentives?

PM: If I wanted to pitch that bad, I probably would. But I don’t think I’m in that stage. I believe I’m very comfortable. I’m not going to let anybody disrespect my abilities the way I am. I’d say no, that’s it. I wouldn’t say I want to pitch that bad.

Basically, what I got from reading this was that Pedro is definitely confident that he can come back and be a good pitcher once again. His velocity has gone down and he wont throw as hard but if he can get his pitches down and stay healthy – that’s good enough.

However, he’s also obviously not desperate to pitch. If there were any chance at a reunion with the Mets it would be on an incentive-laden deal and he’s clearly not open to that. In his own words, it would be disrespectful.

I wish Pedro much luck in finding a new team. He didn’t turn out the way we thought he would but in the end his arrival to Flushing changed the Met culture. We needed some one like him to come in and symbolize a new Met era – a new beginning. His personality and his leadership won us over from day 1. The WBC will be his proving grounds and hopefully he does good enough and lands himself one last contract before he goes fishing.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

